Johannesburg – Organiser espAfrika have announced an exciting all-star line-up for the 17th Cape Town International Jazz Festival (CTIJF).

The artist announcement at a press conference in Johannesburg on Tuesday was the first for next year’s festival, that will take place on April 1 and 2 at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC).



The festival, popularly known as “Africa’s Grandest Gathering”, boasts multiple stages with over 40 artists performing over two nights and is set to host more than 37 000 music lovers.

Cape Town mayor Patricia De Lille said: “The Cape Town International Jazz Festival has become an institution which breaks down barriers and gives us the opportunity to celebrate our shared love of music, together.

Every year it allows us to consolidate why Cape Town is becoming the events capital of Africa. Showcasing our local talent is also an integral part of displaying the role that the arts have to play in that regard.

In anticipation of next year’s festival Arts and Culture Minister Nathi Mthethwa said:

Jazz is a means with which we tell our stories.

The CTIJF 2016 second artist announcement will be released on the November 24, but tickets for the festival go on sale on Tuesday at Computicket.

Ticket prices are as follows: R895 for a weekend pass (two days) and R590 for a day pass. Limited Rosies Stage tickets cost R30 per performance and will be available on www.computicket.com from December 7.

The line-up of international artists includes:

Three-time Grammy-nominated soul songstress Angie Stone (USA)
Grammy-nominated jack swing trio SWV (USA)
Three-time solo bassist award-winner Victor Wooten (USA);
Singer-songwriter, rapper and bassist Meshell Ndegeocello (USA)
Grammy-nominated afro-blues duo Amadou & Mariam (Mali)
Instrumental jazz trio BADBADNOTGOOD (Canada)
Tenor saxophonist Mark Turner (USA)
Jazz and R&B vocalist Lizz Wright (USA)
Santoor and classical artist Rahul Sharma (India) performing with jazz saxophonist George Brooks (USA) and jazz pianist roberto SOLO fonseca (Cuba)
Supergroup Jazz Attack ft. Peter White, Rick Braun and Euge Groove (USA).

The first South African artists announced for CTIJF 2016 include:

Award-winning jazz pianist Afrika Mkhize featuring Eddie Parker (SA/UK)
Three-time Sama winners Mafikizolo featuring Tsepo Tshola
Top-selling local phenomenon Nathi with special guest Vusi Nova
Rising songbird Tribute ‘Birdie’ Mboweni
Sama-nominated pop sensation Muzart performing with award-winning hip hop artist Khuli Chana
South Africa’s leading jazz bassist Benjamin Jephta Quintet
Mbokodo Award ‘Women in Jazz’ winner Thandi Ntuli
Cape Town favourites TopDog
Tumi Mogorosi and Project ELO


Looking for extra exposure? Promote yourself on our website. Send your bio to artists@jazz-db.com, it's free of charge! (please be patient)

Please use addthis@jazz-db.com to get your festival listed or, for general information info@jazz-db.com

Jazz Festival 2017 can not be be held responsible for any damages due to inacurate information on its website.

Jazz Festival 2017 © 2017. All Rights Reserved.